We are child-centred in our approach and encourage and promote learning through exploration, talking, experimenting, thinking and creation in a responsive and respectful manner.

Children are encouraged to share their interests through mind maps and group discussions.  




The Bertram Nursery Group provides stimulating, caring and respectful environments for all children.  Staff are trained to promote a carefully planned structure for the day through close monitoring of individuality and provision of ongoing activities to enhance and support your child’s development to their full potential.

We believe there's nothing we teach indoors that can't be taught outdoors, and make use of our fantastic outdoor space to support learning through play.

All of our nurseries follow their own local planning guidelines and work in partnership with their local council.

The Curriculum for Excellence (Scotland)

We promote play-based education and adhere to national guidance from the Curriculum for Excellence (CfE). The CfE is split into 4 Capacities which are:

  • Successful Learners
  • Confident Individuals
  • Effective Contributors
  • Responsible Citizens

Additionally, the CfE highlights 3 Core Areas for Learning:

  • Literacy
  • Numeracy
  • Health & Wellbeing

Learning Experiences planned by our staff integrate the CfE Capacities and Core Areas for Learning, enabling all children to maximise their potential. We are supported in this through partnership working with our local councils.

Additionally, we take guidance from the following resources:

The Early Years Foundation Stage (England)

The Early Years Foundation Stage (EYFS) is how the government and early years professionals describe the time in your child’s life between birth and age 5. The EYFS Framework helps ensure children are ready for school as well as preparing them for their future learning and successes.

Through the EYFS Framework your child will be learning skills, acquiring knowledge and demonstrating their outstanding 7 Areas of Learning & Development. Children should mostly develop the 3 Prime Areas first. These are:

  • Communication & Language
  • Physical Development
  • Personal, Social & Emotional Development

These Prime Areas are those most essential for your child’s healthy development and future learning.  As children grow, the Prime Areas will help them to develop skills in 4 Specific Areas. These are:

  • Literacy
  • Mathematics
  • Understanding the World
  • Expressive Arts & Design

These 7 areas are used to plan your child’s learning and activities. The professionals teaching and supporting your child will make sure that the activities are suited to your child’s unique needs. Children in the EYFS learn by playing & exploring, being active and through creative & critical thinking which all takes place both indoors and outside.  The EYFS Framework underpins everything we do here at Holyrood Nurseries and is firmly embedded throughout our practice each day.

We have a clear operational plan for the nursery and a detailed Ofsted Self Evaluation. This self evaluation is designed to inform the reader about the way our nursery operates and how the EYFS Framework is embedded throughout our practice.

Management and staff work through the Quality Improvement Support Programme – this encourages reflective practice and assists in the self evaluation processes.  Our nursery teams are guided by our local council and EYFS consultants with regards to planning for the children so that they are in line with local guidance.

For more information on the EYFS Framework, visit www.education.govt.uk

Dear families,

We are pleased to share with you our exciting plans for the future of our nurseries. Bertram Nursery Group has provided a trusted, caring and quality service to thousands of families over two decades.  That isn’t changing, but we want to grow and develop our services, facilities and, most of all, our teams who make our nurseries and kindergartens such inspiring places for children.

That’s why we’re changing our name to Thrive Childcare and Education, because that’s at the heart of what we’re about – helping our children, staff and communities to thrive.

While changing our company name and the names of some of our nurseries is the next step of our development journey, we’ll still have the same dedicated teams caring for your children.

The Covid-19 pandemic has reinforced our belief that we need to adapt and invest in a constantly changing world to continue providing the service that parents and children need, tailored to the communities we support across Scotland and North West England.

Since our foundation, we have acquired some fantastic groups of nurseries and many high-quality independent nurseries. Now we are uniting them under four Thrive groupings:

  • Happitots nurseries will extend beyond Glasgow and South Lanarkshire to provide a network of affordable, flexible nurseries across Scotland.
  • Holyrood nurseries will extend more widely across our network of affordable nurseries in North West England, recognising parents’ and community needs.
  • Corner House nurseries will now extend from Edinburgh to operate more widely across Scotland, providing an extensive range of exciting, extracurricular activities and large outdoor areas.
  • Nature Kindergartens, our new sub-group, will reflect our vision to develop children’s outdoor learning. We plan to expand our Nature Kindergartens network in Scotland and England because we believe children’s learning is greatly enhanced in natural spaces.


Click here to visit Thrive Childcare and Education Website